*** Note: Consider these example resources a starting point for further research. Remember to review the LibGuide for your major for even more resources which may be applicable to your topic. ***
Background Information
CQ Research is a great jumping off point for current event topics. A single "hot" issue in the news is explored in depth each week. Topics range from social and teen issues to environment, health, education and science and technology. There are 44 reports produced each year including four expanded reports
Facts On File World News Digest is a universal reference system that puts all the basic facts of U.S. and world news.
The OOH can help you find career information on duties, education and training, pay, and outlook for hundreds of occupations.
Gale’s Opposing Viewpoints Resource Center is a database that integrates scholarly, academic, and statistical content from a variety of print and online sources to offer users access to information on differing points of view on current social issues with some content retrospective to 1981.
Vocabulary and Reference Sources
In this revolutionary book, the editors translated the complex medical information in The Merck Manual into plain language, producing a book meant for all those people interested in medical care who did not have a medical degree.
Pop Culture and Common Read Sources
Journal Article, Newspaper, and Magazine Databases
The comprehensive news collection is ideal for exploring issues and events at the local, regional, national, and international level. Its diverse source types include print and online-only newspapers, blogs, news wires, journals, broadcast transcripts and videos. Use it to explore a specific event or to compare a wide variety of viewpoints on topics such as politics, business, health, sports, cultural activities and people. Content is easily searched and sorted through an intuitive, map-based interface.
This database thoroughly indexes newspapers from across the USA, providing detailed coverage of not only the biggest stories but also the local-interest sections. Coverage includes: Los Angeles Times; New York Times; Wall Street Journal; Washington Post.
Local News Sources
Remember: Not all of these types of sources are created equal! Opinions and analysis are often highly subjective. Use your best judgment, and be sure to read critically!
Examples:
These guides provide best bet resources geared towards your specific major or subject interest area.
The USF Libraries website is the portal to all of the many electronic and print holdings for the entire USF system.
Academic Search Premier is one of the largest scholarly, multi-disciplinary full text databases, containing full text for nearly 4,650 serials, including more than 3,600 peer-reviewed publications. In addition to the full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 8,200 journals in the collection. This scholarly collection offers information in nearly every area of academic study including: computer science, engineering, physics, chemistry, language and linguistics, arts and literature, medical sciences, ethnic studies, and many more.
JSTOR (www.jstor.org) is a not-for-profit organization with a dual mission to create and maintain a trusted archive of important scholarly journals, and to provide access to these journals as widely as possible. Content in JSTOR spans many disciplines, primarily in the humanities and social sciences.